Spritekit

So Spritekit is coming out next week most likely. I’ve been test driving this new whore trying to see how hardcore it is.

It’s pretty awesome!

Not too hardcore and sexy; Spritekit is easily lovable. It’s easier and cleaner than Cocos2D. For a noob like myself it was really simple to get started and make something; even under the NDA. I’ve used both cocos2D and Spritekit. Honestly I’m not sure how they compare though. I wrote a really small cocos2D “game” a few years ago and it wasn’t too difficult to add collisions and sprites. However in Spritekit it’s ridiculously easy. I only needed a few lines of code to create a rain effect with pure nodes. This weekend I’m going to try to use a genetic algo to generate sprite children and see what interesting things I can do.

 

Image 

 

 

One thought on “Spritekit

Leave a Reply

